top of page

By Myself Book Club

The other day, while at my friend's house, I was perusing the bookshelf, contemplating which book I should borrow. Now I should preface this with: I really should not be looking to borrow a book. I have a huge stack on my bedside table and many unread titles on the shelves. I mean, it's pathetic. They're not even on the side of the bed where I sleep and read.

The funny thing is, these aren't even the only half-read books in my room, let alone in the world. My friend's shelf was full of her own half-read books. As we talked about it I thought "That's it. Gonna have to start a book club." But that would totally defeat the purpose, because then we'd either all have to agree to take up someone else's half-read book or find a completely new volume and leave all the already half-abandoned ones by the wayside.

The solution is simple: by myself book club. Try to actually get something read in a reasonable amount of time so you don't look like a moron at the next 'club meeting.'

I'll keep you posted. Maybe I'll actually return to being an avid reader, like my younger and possibly better self.

Let me know if your [solo] book club is reading anything good lately. I obviously like to keep new books handy.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page