top of page

Podcasts Vol. 2

So now you know I love heartfelt podcasts that draw people together. This is very far off from being the only kind of podcast there is to love. This week let's talk about podcasts that have expanded my view and left me in awe.

First up is Radiolab. "Of course," you say to yourself, because anyone who listens to podcasts should know that Radiolab is sound magic. The sounds of the ice and the audience's applause in this episode about the famous figure skater Surya Bonaly left me breathless. Beyond their talented use of audio, Radiolab makes you think and see in new ways. I have felt this particularly in their scientific discussions. The hosts manage to make complex science manageable and approachable. Two favorite episodes for this have been this one, on fungus in the forest, and this one, on historical medicine.

Another pair of peeps who like to deal with fungus, science, and history are Cynthia and Nicola of Gastropod. Ever since their episode on kelp I have a recurring daydream of farmhouses dotting the seashore of some distant land where everyone farms in the ocean. I almost don't want to see the pictures of the lab in case it spoils the imaginings afforded to me by their story telling. Another thought provoking episode was this one, on the subject of food theft. My friends looked incredulous when I told them about the Great Canadian Maple Syrup Heist of 2012, but you can look it up and see for yourself.

How about you? Do you listen to podcasts? I'd love to hear about them. Feel free to leave a comment and let me know.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page