top of page

Illustrators Who Inspire

Thursday was International Women's Day. The flurry of activity on Instagram got me thinking about who inspires me. I thought it would be fun, in view of March being my month of drawing, to share with you some illustrators I love, admire, and follow on Instagram. You will probably see from this list that I have a clear style I gravitate towards. I hope to be half as amazing as these artists one day. In the meantime, here's to doodling my way through March and here's to inspiring women!

I love how leafy and green her illustrations are. They feel tranquil and dreamy, like you could just melt into them. Lately she has been sharing a heartwarming commission. It's been really fun to see little pieces of it. Bonus: her dog is my dream dog. Adorable.

From the list, this illustrator is probably the least in keeping with my style but I love her messages. She is so encouraging and positive. Her work inspires me to draw more often and draw whatever is good for my heart. I have a friend who is always sending me her posts when they come out. She is so good at making people come together over articulated emotions.

This is the one who got me into illustrations and following illustrators. Her mother was a very important influence in my young, creative life so I followed her work as a supportive acquaintance. Having grown up partially in the same town, her more European illustrations are a salve for any homesickness I may feel. Some even pull me straight back into the Black Forest. I also own one of the books she illustrated and could not recommend it highly enough.

This wonderful woman has two accounts I follow but here I am focusing on "Illustrated Adventures" because it has been my greatest inspiration as of late. I love how she takes the time here to show her vacation and travel doodles and musings. It really makes me want to keep a journal again. Another thing, she inspired me to get colored pencils again and experiment with mixed media. I am loving it.

Thanks to all these ladies for their inspiring work! Do you already follow these artists? Are there others you love or think I would love? Who inspires you to make art? Who inspires you in your daily living? In your hobbies? Leave me a comment and let me know! I would love to hear from you!

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page