top of page

5 Weekend Away Packing Tips | Travel Logs Vol. 2

I spent the last year taking fleeting, wonderful "mid-week weekends" with my lovely college-roommates. We took turns throughout the months slipping a few hours away to the various towns we each called home for shopping, walks, special dinners, and always brunch. These trips gave me the idea that I should write about packing for a weekend away. Now that Nik and I are off to visit family for (Canadian) Thanksgiving the idea has popped back in. Here are five tips to pack for your next long weekend!

1. You only need one pair of pants. And I will start right off saying I'm breaking this rule so here is the exception: unless you'll be spending more than four hours in the car. In this case you need one neutral pair of pants to match everything and one pair of sweatpants or comfy leggings.

2. The socks, tops, and underwear rule. With some things, you need to plan for an extra or two. I'm especially strict on this when it comes to underwear. You just don't want to get caught out.

Our favorite stretch of road on the way to a beloved roommate's house.

3. Always bring your bathing suit. I can't believe I didn't mention this in my last post. I swear by this rule. Once I was on a trip where we were meant to go skiing and the weather turned hot. We ended up rafting a river instead. I was the only one of my group who had a nice swim outfit to wear under my wetsuit. Everyone else was forced to wear underwear.

4. Bring enough makeup to be versatile. Plan your makeup as though you'll have to do one nice look but mostly just wear your daily fair. It's nice to feel like you have a way to do yourself up a little, especially when packing minimally.

Most of my packing laid out.

5. Be more like Coco Channel. I try not to pack the day we are leaving. I pack ahead so I can look through at the last minute and take things out. I rarely ever regret this pairing down. This way you say to yourself "Go all out: bring a book and a cute top for going out!" but at the end of the day, do you really want your knitting along? Not exactly. So you can weed it out a leave it at home, where you'll be happy to see it when you return.

Are you planning any weekends away with autumn?

I'd love to hear :) Wishing you all happy and safe travels. À bientôt!

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page